Jos76’s Blog

Thoughts and musings on life in a gay marriage.

Jos76’s life in 350 words or less!

Posted by jos76 on January 14, 2008

I spent some time in a Mennonite boarding school in Pennsylvania when I was in high school. Suffice it to say that as the resident gay kid I learned to have a thick skin. I never personally felt that my faith and my sexuality were in opposition to each other, but I constantly heard how evil the “homosexual lifestyle” was.

I graduated from high school in 1994 and went on to a large state university where I tried to fit in, but quickly realized that I was way more religious than I had thought. I spent my sophomore year in France where no one wanted to listen to any kind of religious banter. I quickly realized that churches in France were just pretty museums that tourists appreciated more than French citizens did.

Once I graduated from college, I went to live on Cape Cod where I also taught for four years. I had a really rewarding experience with a group of colleagues that taught me that I could be openly gay (and even date at times). I took them up on it and eventually met my partner, through and online dating site.

I don’t think my colleagues saw it coming, but I moved off of Cape Cod to be with my new boyfriend. During our first date we had a quick conversation about whether or not we wanted to be together exclusively and we both agreed. We have been together ever since. We were together for five years when we decided to get married two years ago.

We both have very interesting families and friends that always keep us guessing. In these postings, you will be introduced to many of them and will come to see the experiences that we have as a young (can we still say that at 29 and 31 years old?) gay couple. Stay tuned.

Jos76

One Response to “Jos76’s life in 350 words or less!”

  1. lwando said

    Hello there Jos76

    It’s always great to read about other gay people’s lives and how they are negotiating their ways of being in this world. It gives us “unexperienced” gay people hope and something to look forward to. It’s very weird to me that one state in the country could have same sex marriage while other places do not. I guess that’s just the world we live in.

    I definately want to visit Massachusets. You and your partner seem like you have a great relationship going. Some of us can only hope of having that one day. Thank you for the comment on my blog. I will be checking yours out. I love the tag line by the way “Thoughts and musings in a gay marriage.”

Leave a Reply

 
