Jos76’s Blog

Thoughts and musings on life in a gay marriage.

My three sons

Posted by jos76 on January 19, 2008

I truly believe that our healthy gay marriage/relationship/existence has a lot to do with our parents.  Once they clearly expressed their feelings of acceptance, others followed their lead, especially given their respected roles in the family.  I understand that not every gay person has this privilege.  However,  I can’t underestimate how important it has been for us to have parents who take their parenting responsibilities seriously and support Dac and me in our mutually-supportive relationship

sons.jpg

A great example of this came about one day a few years back when I went to meet Dac’s father at his office.  I went into the large engineering firm, went up to the receptionist in the lobby and asked her to call up and let Dac’s dad know that I was there.  She asked who she should say was here. I said, “his son-in-law.”  She called, got his assistant and let him know to pass on the message. 

My father-in-law told me when he came down that his young male assistant said to him, “Your son-in-law is downstairs.  I thought you had three sons.  I didn’t know you had a daughter.”  To which he replied without a second thought, “I don’t have a daughter, but I do have a son-in-law.” 

Another unsuspecting person unwittingly influenced by those who support us the most.  And if the boss says it’s okay, it’s okay.

Jos76

4 Responses to “My three sons”

  1. […] jos76 wrote an interesting post today on My three sonsHere’s a quick excerptI truly believe that our healthy gay marriage/relationship/existence has a lot to do with our parents. Once they clearly expressed their feelings of acceptance, others followed their lead, espcially given their respected roles in the … […]

  2. Rick said

    Thanks for stopping by Bandit Talks. It’s nice to meet a fellow gay North Shorer. I’ll add you to my Blog list. Keep in touch!

    Rick

    P.S. I’m also of Azorean descent.

  3. wish my parents were as supportive! thanks for the post.

  4. That’s beautiful!

    TRiG.

Leave a Reply

 
