Jos76’s Blog

Thoughts and musings on life in a gay marriage.

The Best of Intentions

Posted by jos76 on February 16, 2008

We had just dropped a friend off and were heading for Dac’s parents’ house. It was the first time I was going to meet his parents. We pulled up to their driveway and before we got out, Dac said, “Don’t worry about it. It will be fine.” Though he was out to his parents, he had never introduced them to someone he was dating. I got out of the car and headed up the stairs to the front door. I don’t remember if Dac had a key or if we rang the doorbell, but somehow we ended up on the inside. I shook Dac’s father’s hand (from now on referred to as Rock, per his request). I kissed his mother on the cheek. The hard part was over, or so I thought.

men_s_suit.jpg

Rock had not changed out of his corporate garb, so he looked rather formal sitting there in the living room. Dac’s mom was sizing me up a little bit. After all, Dac is the baby of the family and she needed to protect him. As we sat there I waited for one of them to ask, “So what are you intentions with our boy?” But, that sort of question never came. Rather there was another question asking me to join them at their house on Christmas evening, where I would have the chance to meet the rest of the family! I graciously accepted. Dac and I had only known each other for a few weeks and it was getting serious fast, but everything worked out great. 

Dac first met my mother in the parking lot of a Bed Bath and Beyond of all places, where we had happened to meet up while out shopping. He later met the rest of my family when we went out to dinner one night (I think that it was Bugaboo Creek or the Outback.) Dac later met my brother and his wife and their kids when we went to their house for dinner one night

First meetings always give opportunities for good memories. I will never forget sitting in Rock’s living-room contemplating what my intentions were with their son, just in case they asked.

Jos76

4 Responses to “The Best of Intentions”

  1. A said

    I’m glad things worked out so well. I can so relate to the whole first-meeting-jitters. I met my boyfriend’s parents 2 weekends ago and they were SOOOO amazingly wonderful! And now at the end of the month he’s going home with me. I’m really excited – he’s really nervous.

  2. Dac's mom said

    A
    Good luck on your upcoming meeting with your boyfriend.If your Mom loves you, then she will love anyone you have chosen.

  3. Jeremy said

    haha…having a mac is cool man! even tho its way expensive…its really quite nice to look at.

  4. Mother of your 2 nieces said

    This blog entry made me lol 🙂 Your experience was the EXACT same as mine!!! They were both sitting in their ‘chairs’ on either side of the living room and it was intimidating and not intimidating at the same time!! Don’t think it mattered if you or I were gay or straight – I know exactly how you felt!!!

Leave a Reply

 
