Jos76’s Blog

Thoughts and musings on life in a gay marriage.

There are Liberals in Texas

Posted by jos76 on March 5, 2008

One of the reasons that I wanted to start this blog was to show people in other states (and perhaps even other countries around the world) that life in a legal gay marriage is nothing out of the ordinary. Sure we have to deal with politicians dismissing our relationship and contributions to our community and economy, but for the most part we lead lives that are not very different from our straight friends and family. It has been several years since gay couples were granted the right to legally marry in Massachusetts and you can ask anyone in this state..nothing has changed.

The great thing about the Internet is that you can easily reach people far away and close to home. If you read through some of the comments, you will see comments from a man in Saskatchewan, Canada (on the About page) and from a guy who lives in the same county where I live (Bandittalks). There are also comments from both my mom and Dac’s mom.

flag.gif

One of the best and most surprising outcomes of these posts has been recognition from a blog in Texas called Texas Liberal. This blogger wrote about my blog so that other Liberals (and non-Liberals) in Texas could see how normal and respectful gay marriage can actually be. You can see his post HERE.

It’s great to connect with the world.

Jos76

5 Responses to “There are Liberals in Texas”

  1. Michael said

    I did not see an e-mail for you. Thanks for the comment on my blog. I have added your blog to my blog roll.

    Michael

  2. Rick said

    Thanks for the nod.

  3. thehostess said

    Hey Jos…I went to get your URL…I’ve got you on the blogroll and I just put you in a post(because you always have such well thought out comments) and I see this giant Texas flag. I grew up in Dallas. Moved to Philly 12 years ago. I’ll check out the Texas liberal. Good to see that they will be reading your blog down there. So glad I stopped by. Thanks for the post.

  4. Moo said

    “…how normal and respectful gay marriage can actually be.”

    Seriously. This is one of the (many) reasons that the phrase “gay lifestyle” makes me want to throw things, preferably the person who said it.

    My lifestyle is that I get up, go to work, come home, eat dinner, read a book or watch a movie and go to sleep.* I consider myself wonderfully blessed to have a spouse to share my life with me; while being married is part of my lifestyle, whether the person to whom I’m married is male or female really shouldn’t enter into any discussion of my lifestyle. Is what I think.

    *My life is actually considerably richer and more fulfilling than I just made it sound; I’m a very lucky Moo, really.

  5. Thank you for the mention of texas Liberal.

    I’m off work today and the sun is supposed to come out later. So i’m looking forward to taking a long walk.

    That is off-topic, but near the top of my thoughts today.

Leave a Reply

 
