Jos76’s Blog

Thoughts and musings on life in a gay marriage.

Paris, je t’aime

Posted by jos76 on March 12, 2008

2400-2292eiffel-tower-posters.jpg

During my sophomore and junior years in college I lived in France.  I originally intended to live in Paris and to attend one of the universities, but I realized after a few weeks that it was too expensive for an American student to live there, so I packed up and went to Rouen, in Normandy.  This was a much smaller city about an hour west of Paris. I enrolled in the University there and took a position as an English Teaching Assistant in a high school.

I lived in a little suburb of the city called Bois-Guilliame (William’s Woods) in a small apartment above the garage of a professor at the university.  We became great friends and had almost every meal together.  She was much older than me and had just divorced before I moved in.  She needed someone to talk to and I wanted to talk as much as possible in order to practice my Parisian French (I had a French-Canadian/Quebecois accent when I got there), so we were a perfect match.  It was kind of like a Harold and Maude situation, but the updated gay version.  Each night when we would set the table, there were the required elements like plates and utensils, but I learned to add a dictionary (which we would always seem to need) and Brigitte’s cigarettes (Marlboro Box), a lighter, and the ashtray.  It was France after all.

I am  a French teacher so I have been back to France many times since college, but it has always been with 20-40 students in tow.  I have enjoyed traveling with students, but student travel companies are not known for choosing the best hotels and restaurants.  This Friday, Dac and I are leaving for Paris.  It will be the first time since college that I have been without a group of students.  It will also be Dac’s first time there as well.  I’m very excited to show him around and experience this amazing city again.

Cheese, cafe, croissant, baguette, oh my!

Jos76

3 Responses to “Paris, je t’aime”

  1. Rick said

    Have a great trip. I’m jealous! Sounds fun.

  2. Ha! I used to live in Rouen as well – actually St Valery en Caux, a few miles north. But i visited Rouen all the time as my friend lived there.

    Totally awesome little city. I love it.

  3. I’m lucky in Ireland. Paris is just a very short hop. It also served as the starting point for both of my cross-Europe train holidays.

    InterRail. Brilliant.

    And I love Paris.

    TRiG.

Leave a Reply

 
