Jos76’s Blog

Thoughts and musings on life in a gay marriage.

Miami, You’ve Got Style

Posted by jos76 on March 31, 2008

Dac is a musician. As I mentioned in a previous post, he is a classical musician for the most part, but he also dabbles in more contemporary music. Everyone in our church looks forward to his musical contributions, be it a classical piece or a contemporary song. I have gotten very good at standing next him as people come up and compliment him afterward. I love it because I am always so proud of him. I have no musical talent at all so I am always impressed by what he accomplishes. I don’t mean to make it seem like it is effortless for him. It most certainly is not. Dac spends hours practicing at home and makes sure that everything that he performs in church or in a concert is excellent.

After seven years, I have begun to get a bit of the music bug from him. I can’t carry a tune to save my life and can’t tell if I am singing too high or too low. When I ask Dac if I should I sing a note higher or lower, he usually responds, “Can’t you hear it?” to which I respond, “Uh…no.”

There is one song that I can mostly sing in tune and of all things it is the Miami song that Rose and Dorothy sang on an episode of the Golden Girls. This is possibly the gayest thing that I have ever admitted to. For those of you that don’t have the “gay gene,” the Golden Girls was TV show in the 80’s about four women in the golden years of their lives (50-80 years old). I’m convinced that the innate ability to sing this song must be genetically linked to the gay gene. What else could possible explain it?

There are times when Dac and I are driving down the street and one of us bursts out with the lyrics to Miami and we sing the entire song together. Maybe there are some things that are different between a straight and gay marriage after all.

Enjoy Rose and Dorothy singing the original!

Jos76

4 Responses to “Miami, You’ve Got Style”

  1. keltic said

    Great post! I am reminded of my own relationship as I read it. I am the music director at my church, my partner often comes to church with me, and has gone with me when I perform at special services. He is always amazed and proud of the compliments I receive concerning my talent. and hey, we’re getting married in August! (not legally though, because we live in PA) Sounds like we have similar lives….

  2. Carey said

    May I just say that was one of the funniest things I’ve ever read..I actually LOL’ed…
    Tell DAC that you think Rose looks lovely in pink and I’m sure you’ll get a good laugh out of him.
    If not, tell him I said to say that..Then I’m SURE he’ll laugh.
    Maybe you could work on The Nanny theme song next… Another favorite in the TV theme song book of DAC.

  3. keltic said

    and looking back, I see we’ve commented on each other’s blogs before. thanks for writing this stuff. It’s comforting to read something I identify with.

  4. Heather said

    I debated whether or not to click on that link. I vaguely remembered that tune and knew the moment I click on it that it would be firmly stuck in my head all day. Why did I click? 🙂 My husband is a bit on the tone deaf side, while I studied music in college. Doesn’t bother me though – I think it’s cute when he sounds like an American Idol reject!

Leave a Reply

 
